The Word, The Light, The Torah

Many believe the Torah first was introduced at Mt Sinai to the Israelites, but is this true? Many believe the Torah was added due to sin, but is this true? Bizrat HaShem, let’s take a look into Scripture and see if there is a different perspective that can be presented.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with G-d, and the Word was G-d. He was in the beginning with G-d.  All things came into being through Him, and apart from Him nothing came into being that has come into being.  In Him was life, and the life was the Light of men.  The Light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it. John 1:1-5

That is a lot to digest! There is so much depth to what John is telling us in this passage, so let’s start in the beginning – In the beginning was the Word. Generally speaking, most know John is speaking about our salvation – Yeshua. John 1:14 – And the Word became flesh, and dwelt among us…. Revelation 19:13 says His name (speaking of the Messiah) is called The Word of G-d. I think it is important then to determine what John means when he uses word in this way.

David spoke of the word many times throughout Psalms. Specifically, Psalm 119 speaks of the word.

Psalm 119:9 – How can a young man keep his way pure? By keeping it according to Your word.

Verse 11 – Your word I have treasured in my heart, That I may not sin against You.

Verse 16 – I shall delight in Your statutes; I shall not forget Your word.

Verse 17 – Deal bountifully with Your servant, That I may live and keep Your word.

Verse 43 – And do not take the word of truth utterly out of my mouth, For I wait for Your ordinances.

Verse 67 – Before I was afflicted I went astray, But now I keep Your word.

Verse 89 – Forever, O Lord, Your word is settled in heaven.

Verse 101 – I have restrained my feet from every evil way, That I may keep Your word.

Verse 105 – Your word is a lamp to my feet And a light to my path.

Verse 130 – The unfolding of Your words gives light; It gives understanding to the simple.

Verse 133 – Establish my footsteps in Your word, And do not let any iniquity have dominion over me.

Verse 139 – My zeal has consumed me, Because my adversaries have forgotten Your words.

Verse 148 – My eyes anticipate the night watches, That I may meditate on Your word.

Verse 160 – The sum of Your word is truth, And every one of Your righteous ordinances is everlasting.

Verse 172 – Let my tongue sing of Your word, For all Your commandments are righteousness.

A few of the above verses I want to highlight. Verses 9-11 state this – How can a young man keep his way pure? By keeping it according to Your word. With all my heart I have sought You; Do not let me wander from Your commandments. Your word I have treasured in my heart, That I may not sin against You. Verses 16-17 are about delighting in His statutes so that he will not forget and keep His word. David says not to take the word out of his mouth and that he went astray, but not he keeps His word. Forever you word is settled in heaven. I could go on and on. Clearly David is using word synonymously with Torah. We also know from David that the Torah and the commandments are truth (v142, 151). Paul tells Timothy in 1 Timothy 1:8 that the law is good. Paul also calls the law holy, righteous, and good in Romans. We also know from Proverbs 6:23 that the commandment is a lamp, the Torah is a light, and reproofs for discipline are the way of life. We also saw in Psalm 119:105 that the word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. So word=light=Torah.

Now, Genesis 1:3-5 says this: Then G-d said, “Let there be light”; and there was light.  G-d saw that the light was good; and G-d separated the light from the darkness.  G-d called the light day, and the darkness He called night. And there was evening and there was morning, one day.

What is the light that G-d created for it is not the sun, moon and stars which are created on day four? It is the Torah. The Torah is the light. The light was good…just like Paul said the Torah was good. He separated the light from darkness. Why? John tells us the Light shines in the darkness and the darkness did not comprehend it in John 1:5. Isaiah 8:20 says To the Torah and to the testimony: if they speak not according to this word, it is because there is no light in them. Thus why in Revelation 12:17 it says And the dragon was wroth with the woman, and went to make war with the remnant of her seed, which keep the commandments of God, and have the testimony of Jesus Christ. In 3:19 John says the Light came into the world and men loved the darkness rather than the Light, for their deeds were evil. So those who practice the truth comes to the Light, so that his deeds may be manifested as having been wrought in G-d (v21).   What is truth? As I already mentioned the Torah is truth. So those who practice Torah come to the Torah because they are not of darkness but of Light.   Their deeds are not evil, because they practice Torah.

Genesis 1:4 says G-d saw that the light was good. In the English you cannot see this next point, but in Hebrew you can. Typically, the word את (Aleph Tav reading right to left) is not translated from Hebrew to English. That is right, the translators just skip it. Each time the Aleph Tav is mentioned in Scripture it is speaking about Yeshua and His work. The Aleph Tav are the first and last letters of the Hebrew alphabet. In Greek it is the Alpha and Omega, but in Hebrew it is the Aleph and Tav…the first and the last. In this verse it actually says את-האןר. That is Aleph Tav – heh aleph vav resh. The word for light is aleph vav resh or in Hebrew OR. I say all this to get to the gemetria of this light. If you don’t know about Hebrew Gemetria it is very powerful and has lots of uses. Each letter is assigned a numerical value. When you add the numerical value of this combination it will amaze you. Aleph = 1, Tav = 400, Heh = 5, Aleph = 1, Vav = 6, and the Resh = 200. Go ahead, add it up. What do you get? I hope you got 613! For there are 613 commandments! When G-d said the light was good, he was talking about the Torah. The Torah is the light! Without the Torah you do not have light, but darkness.

Hopefully, you followed along to this point. We know the Word is equal to Torah and equal to Light. We also know from John 1:14 that the Word become flesh and was full of grace and truth. In other words, the Torah became flesh. So Yeshua is the walking Torah. John later says in 14:6 that I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the father, but by me. In other words, you cannot go to the father except through the Torah!

Was the Torah given to anyone prior to Mt. Sinai? This I cannot prove emphatically. I have shown how the Torah definitely existed prior the foundations of the world though. We do know that Cain and Abel were bringing sacrifices to G-d. We do know there was a distinction between clean and unclean animals. We do know that Avraham was obedient to G-d’s commandments, statutes, and laws. We know Avraham made sacrifices and paid a tithe. All of this prior to the giving of the Torah at Mt Sinai.

The questions posed at the beginning were was the Torah introduced at Mt Sinai and was the Torah a result of sin. Based on the evidence presented here I do not believe one can conclude the answer to be yes. It has to be no. For Yeshua, the Messiah, existed from the beginning, for He is G-d. G-d is our salvation.

Baruch HaShem! I hope this has brought some understanding and clarity for you. At the very least has made you rethink your perspective.

Until next time…kadosh, kadosh, kadosh is HaShem!

One thought on “The Word, The Light, The Torah

  1. Yochanan,
    Great study! To add to your information, the Hebrew of the 1 verse in Genesis is “Beresheit bara Elohim et ha shamayim v’et ha eretz.” The forth word is not translated into English, but is referred to as the Aleph-Tav which is the “Word” that John spoke of – It is the summation of the entirety of the Hebrew Aleph-Beyt and the building blocks of Creation. Even Jewish Rabbi’s will agree that there is a mystical meaning to the Aleph-Tav (or “memra” as some call it) and that it stands for the Messiah. Keep up the great work, worthy is the man that labors in the word. Shalom Aleichem!

Comments are closed.