Delight In The Law Of G-d

Last time Paul was teaching us that his flesh is at war against with his spiritual side.  The flesh wants to do evil while the spiritual wants to follow G-d’s ways.  As we finish chapter 7 Paul continues his teaching on his flesh warring against the law of his mind.

I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me.  For I delight in the law of G-d after the inward man: But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.  O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death?  I thank G-d through Yeshua Mashiach our L-rd. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of G-d; but with the flesh the law of sin. Romans 7:21-25

Paul is continuing to teach that there is a law within him that even when he does good is present within him.  This law is not Torah.  For clearly this law is evil and the Torah is not evil.  For Paul in the next statement says for I delight in the law of G-d after the inward man.  He delights in the Torah (sounds like King David) after the inward man.  I believe Paul is referencing the new fleshy, not stony, heart one receives when they turn to G-d.  The heart had been circumcised and therefore follows G-d in all His ways.

Yet, Paul knows there is another law warring against what he knows is best.  This law brings us into captivity of the law of sin.  The law of sin is death.  Pure and simple.  There is a penalty for not following the Torah, whether you know to follow the Torah or not (Romans 2:12).  But…But, we have Yeshua our G-d to thank for paying for out debt (Col 2:14).

Paul states even though we have Yeshua’s merciful act, we are circumcised in the heart, therefore serving the law of G-d, our flesh will still want to follow the law of sin.  Some think all is accomplished, but how can all be accomplished if there is still sin in this world?

Until next time…kadosh, kadosh, kadosh is HaShem!

2 thoughts on “Delight In The Law Of G-d

  1. I do believe that you are touching a very controversial subject. Have you noticed the various passages where Paul discusses law and the principalities and powers together (if not, you can start at Colossians 2:13-19)? I think that this “law” that Paul is discussing is the ingrained desire to be righteous through our own ability, whether through Torah or through another self-imposed ideal of righteousness. But this is a false righteousness not predicated upon faith. That law is death, death, death, but the Torah – that is, the commands of God – is life, for it puts an end to the endless cycle of “offer more”.
    Grace and peace in Mashiach, our Lord Yeshua!

  2. Interesting. I do see that some may have a desire to be righteous through their own ability, but I do not think that is what Paul is speaking about here in this passage. Based on the context of the chapter, I see Paul speaking about the flesh and its desire to follow a different path than G-d’s ways whether in rebellion or seeking a different righteousness. Though, I agree it is a war against the principalities and powers.

    Thank you for reading and commenting!

Comments are closed.