Part 3…I am the way, the truth, and the LIFE…

Yeshua said “I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” What did he mean by I am the way, the truth, and the life? Does Scripture show the way, the truth, and the life? This is the second of a three part series looking at each one of these and how each of these are used throughout Scripture.

Part 1: Here                                                                                                                Part 2: Here

The third one: I am…the life:

The Word for life in Hebrew is chai and is Strong’s 2416 meaning living, alive.

If you have read the first two parts, you can pretty much guess what life is and if you guessed keeping the Torah you would be correct.

Deuteronomy 30:15-16 – See, I have set before thee this day life and good, and death and evil; For I command you today to love the L-rd your G-d, to walk in obedience to him, and to keep his commands, decrees and laws; then you will live (Chai) and increase, and the L-rd your G-d will bless you in the land you are entering to possess.

Deuteronomy 30:19-20a – I call heaven and earth to record this day against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing: therefore choose life, that both thou and thy seed may live:  That thou mayest love the L-rd thy G-d, and that thou mayest obey his voice, and that thou mayest cleave unto him: for he is thy life,

Deuteronomy 32:46-47a – And he said unto them, Set your hearts unto all the words which I testify among you this day, which ye shall command your children to observe to do, all the words of this law.  For it is not a vain thing for you; because it is your life

Proverbs 6:23 – For the commandment is a lamp; and the law is light; and reproofs of instruction are the way of life

John 6:63 – It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life.

John 10:10 – The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.

Who is the thief? HaSatan (cursed be his name) came to steal, kill, and to destroy. He came to bruise you on your heel (walking in the way of G-d). How would he do this? By getting you to stop following G-d’s commandments. G-d though wants you not only to have life, but to have it more abundantly.

Who is not going to have life?

Deuteronomy 30:17-18a – But if thine heart turn away, so that thou wilt not hear, but shalt be drawn away, and worship other G-ds, and serve them; I denounce unto you this day, that ye shall surely perish

Deuteronomy 6:16-17 – Ye shall not tempt the L-rd your G-d, as ye tempted him in Massah.  Ye shall diligently keep the commandments of the L-rd your G-d, and his testimonies, and his statutes, which he hath commanded thee.

Ephesians 4:17-18 –  This I say therefore, and testify in the L-rd, that ye henceforth walk not as other Gentiles walk, in the vanity of their mind, having the understanding darkened, being alienated from the life of G-d through the ignorance that is in them, because of the blindness of their heart

G-d wants to give us the fountain of life:

Proverbs 13:14 – The law of the wise is a fountain of life, to depart from the snares of death.

Revelation 21:6 – And he said unto me, It is done. I am Alef and Tav, the beginning and the end. I will give unto him that is athirst of the fountain of the water of life freely.

 John 14:6 – Yeshua saith unto him, I am the way, the TRUTH, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

In essence, Yeshua was reconfirming verse John 1:14 – And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.

He was saying I am the Word may flesh…I am Torah, Torah, Torah!

