Part 2…I am the way, the TRUTH, and the life…

Yeshua said “I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” What did he mean by I am the way, the truth, and the life? Does Scripture show the way, the truth, and the life? This is the second of a three part series looking at each one of these and how each of these are used throughout Scripture.

If you missed part one: Click Here

The second one: I am…the truth

The Word for truth in Hebrew is emet and is Strong’s 571 meaning firmness, faithfulness, truth.

In the first portion I mentioned the Alef/Tav, the beginning and the end. Emet is spelled Alef Mem Tav. Alef being the first letter in the Hebrew alphabet, the mem is the middle letter and the tav is the last letter. The whole truth is everything from the beginning through the middle and to the end. The truth is Yeshua, who is the beginning and the end.

Is truth defined in Scripture?

Psalm 119:142 – Thy righteousness is an everlasting righteousness, and thy law is the truth.

Psalm 119:151 – Thou art near, O Lord; and all thy commandments are truth.

Psalm 119:160 – Thy word is true from the beginning: and every one of thy righteous judgments endureth for ever.

John 17:17 – Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.

So David defined truth as the Torah, the commandments, the word. John reconfirms what David said, the word is truth. The only word David and John could be speaking about is Torah!

Do any of the prophets confirm the definition of truth?

Malachi 2:1,6 – And now, O ye priests, this commandment is for you….The Torah of truth was in his mouth, and iniquity was not found in his lips: he walked with me in peace and equity, and did turn many away from iniquity.

Zechariah 8:3 –  Thus saith the Lord; I am returned unto Zion, and will dwell in the midst of Jerusalem: and Jerusalem shall be called a city of truth; and the mountain of the Lord of hosts the holy mountain.

Why would Jerusalem be called a city of truth?

Micah 4:2 – And many nations shall come, and say, Come, and let us go up to the mountain of the Lord, and to the house of the G-d of Jacob; and he will teach us of his ways, and we will walk in his paths: for the Torah shall go forth of Zion, and the word of the Lord from Jerusalem.

Isaiah 2:3 –  And many people shall go and say, Come ye, and let us go up to the mountain of the Lord, to the house of the G-d of Jacob; and he will teach us of his ways, and we will walk in his paths: for out of Zion shall go forth the Torah, and the word of the Lord from Jerusalem.

For the Torah will go forth from Jerusalem sometime in the future!

Many know that Torah is equal to light:

 Psalm 119:105 – Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.

Proverbs 6:23 – For the commandment is a lamp; and the law is light; and reproofs of instruction are the way of life

John 3:21 – But he that doeth truth cometh to the light, that his deeds may be made manifest, that they are wrought in G-d.

Torah is a lamp to the feet and if you keep (guard) Torah you will come into the light.

If you are not keeping (guarding) the commandments then the truth is not in you.

1 John 2:4 – He that saith, I know him, and keepeth not his commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him.

But if you keep the commandments (assuming salvation is already obtained) then you are in Him:

1 John 2:5 – But whoso keepeth his word, in him verily is the love of G-d perfected: hereby know we that we are in him.

Therefore you will be set free:

John 8:31-32 –  Then said Yeshua to those Jews which believed on him, If ye continue in my word, then are ye my disciples indeed;  And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.

The Torah sets you free?

Psalm 119:45 – And I will walk at liberty: for I seek thy precepts.

James 1:25 – But whoso looketh into the perfect law of liberty, and continueth therein, he being not a forgetful hearer, but a doer of the work, this man shall be blessed in his deed.

The Holy Spirit is to cause you to follow the truth (commandments):

Ezekiel 11:19-20 –  And I will give them one heart, and I will put a new spirit within you; and I will take the stony heart out of their flesh, and will give them an heart of flesh:  That they may walk in my statutes, and keep mine ordinances, and do them: and they shall be my people, and I will be their G-d.

Ezekiel 36:26-27 – A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh.  And I will put my spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes, and ye shall keep my judgments, and do them.

John 16:13 – Howbeit when he, the Spirit of truth, is come, he will guide you into all truth: for he shall not speak of himself; but whatsoever he shall hear, that shall he speak: and he will shew you things to come.

John 15:26 – But when the Comforter is come, whom I will send unto you from the Father, even the Spirit of truth, which proceedeth from the Father, he shall testify of me

How will the Spirit of truth testify of Yeshua? He testifies for Him by causing those He indwells to follow Torah. Yeshua is the Torah made flesh:

John 1:1 – In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with G-d, and the Word was G-d.

John 1:14 – And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.

Again Word is equal to Torah and the Torah was made flesh.

Walking in the truth and to love is walking in the commandments:

2 John 1:4 – I rejoiced greatly that I found of thy children walking in truth, as we have received a commandment from the Father.

2 John 1:6 – And this is love, that we walk after his commandments. This is the commandment, That, as ye have heard from the beginning, ye should walk in it.

3 John 1:3-4 – For I rejoiced greatly, when the brethren came and testified of the truth that is in thee, even as thou walkest in the truth.  I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth.

 

John 14:6 – Yeshua saith unto him, I am the way, the TRUTH, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

One thought on “Part 2…I am the way, the TRUTH, and the life…

  1. Pingback: Part 3…I am the way, the truth, and the LIFE… | Yochanan's Thoughts

Comments are closed.