It Is For Freedom the Mashiach Set Us Free

Galatians 5 starts out with Paul telling us we are free…not to be subject to a yolk of slavery again.  What is Paul writing about?  Freedom?  Wooohoooo!!!  Freedom from what though?  Many believe free from the Torah.  They believe Torah is a ball and chain and we must escape it at all costs.

It was for freedom that Christ set us free; therefore keep standing firm and do not be subject again to a yoke of slavery. Galatians 5:1

If you read this verse by itself with a prejudice towards the Torah, you bet you see Torah as a yoke of slavery.  Yet, King David spoke glowingly about the Torah.  All throughout the Psalms he speaks of it and chapter 119 is all about the Torah.

Psalm 119:
v1 – How blessed are those whose way is blameless, Who walk in the Torah of the Lord.
v18 – Open my eyes, that I may behold Wonderful things from Your Torah.
v35 – Make me walk in the path of Your commandments, For I delight in it.v45 – And I will walk at liberty, For I seek Your precepts.
v93 – I will never forget Your precepts, For by them You have revived me.
v97 – O how I love Your Torah! It is my meditation all the day.
v105 – Your word is a lamp to my feet And a light to my path.
v134 – Redeem me from the oppression of man, That I may keep Your precepts.
v143 – Trouble and anguish have come upon me, Yet Your commandments are my delight.
v160 – The sum of Your word is truth, And every one of Your righteous ordinances is everlasting.
v163 – I hate and despise falsehood, But I love Your Torah.

Someone forgot to tell David, a man after G-d’s own heart, that the Torah is a yolk of slavery.  If David was a man after G-d’s own heart, wouldn’t you want to follow in David’s footsteps?  David loved the Torah, he delighted in it, it gave his feet light, the Torah is EVERLASTING, and the Torah contains wonderful things.  David even said he walks in LIBERTY.  Why?  Because he seeks the precepts…another word for commandments.  Hmmm, interesting.

In James 1:25 we are told the Torah is the perfect law, the law of liberty.  If we become effectual doers, we will be blessed.

I am getting confused because the world tells me, the church tells me, the Torah is a yolk of slavery.  Yet, a man after G-d’s own heart, another man who is Yeshua’s brother, both tell us the Torah is liberty, freedom.  So what is Paul writing about?

You have to remember what you just read in Galatians 4:8-9 – However at that time, when you did not know G-d, you were slaves to those which by nature are no gods. But now that you have come to know G-d, or rather to be known by G-d, how is it that you turn back again to the weak and worthless elemental things, to which you desire to be enslaved all over again?

When you did not know G-d you were slaves to others and you were dealing with weak and worthless elemental things, enslaved to them.  This is exactly what Paul is referencing in 5:1, not Torah.  When we do anything other than following Torah we become enslaved.  If we would just read in context.  I was once there as well, but thankfully the cloud was lifted and I can see the Torah for what it is.

Baruch HaShem!  If we stop seeing the Torah for what it is not, then you can start to see what Paul is telling the world.  We cannot be saved by our works and we are enslaved to anything other than Torah.  For the Torah gives freedom!!!

What do you think?  Do you agree?  If not, why?

Until next time, kadosh, kadosh, kadosh is HaShem!

